TGA’s Most Anticipated Games of 2012

Posted: December 1, 2011 by Tim Utley in Editorials
Tags: , , ,

With 2011 winding down and “The November to Remember” behind us it is time to look to next year and tell you all what we are excited for.  There are so many games coming out in 2012 and it is sure to be another disastrous year for our wallets, but that is the nature of the beast.  All the writers here at TGA have picked their Top 10 most anticipated titles so take a look.

Tim’s Picks

  1. Mass Effect 3
  2. Max Payne 3
  3. Binary Domain
  4. Soul Calibur V
  5. Hitman: Absolution
  6. Bioshock Infinite
  7. Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City
  8. Tomb Raider reboot
  9. SSX
  10. Halo 4

TOP PICK – Max Payne 3

Why? – There are a plethora of AAA titles dropping in 2012, but none that have had made me wait longer than Max Payne 3.  The many delays that have fallen upon this game are no longer plaguing it and it is finally coming out.  The conflicted life that Max Payne drudges through is finally seeing its third installment and I am beyond ecstatic for the new direction they are going in with the game.  It has also been too long since I have slow motion dived into a slide then shot someone in the nuts.  Besides the obvious allure to Bullet Time I want to see how Max’s travels in Brazil turn out and how he continues to deal with the demon’s that haunt him.  Rockstar has made some serious improvements to the game and the amount of detail being implemented to both the mechanics and narrative will surely make this the best entry yet.  Max Payne 3 is going to be out of control and is making me wish March would leap frog over the two preceding months and give me my game already.

Justin’s Picks

  1. Mass Effect 3
  2. Max Payne 3
  3. Bioshock Infinite
  4. Hitman: Absolution
  5. Tomb Raider Reboot
  6. SSX
  7. Paper Mario 3DS
  8. Metal Gear 3: Snake Eater 3DS
  9. Uncharted: Golden Abyss
  10. Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

TOP PICK – Mass Effect 3

Why? – The most anticipated game for me has not been an easy choice. I find myself torn between the love of my favorite previous gen series Max Payne and the love of one of my favorite current gen series Mass Effect. Although not by more than just a hair the most anticipated game of 2012 for me would be Mass Effect 3. The thought of closing out the story arc of the over 100+ hours I spent playing ME and ME 2 growing and shaping Commander Shepard and the world surrounding him brings nothing but hype and excitement. It is to the point where I am considering picking up both the 360 and the PS3 versions (maybe not at launch) of the game due to having a different Commander Shepard on each platform.  Either way this will surely be a blockbuster title that will not disappoint.

I am adding a separate category for this as well. The most anticipated handheld release of 2012 as I feel that this is separate from console releases. Paper Mario for 3DS is one of the major reasons I recently caved to get a 3DS and my most anticipated handheld game of 2012. Being a long standing fan of Super Mario RPG when Nintendo switched to the Paper Mario series back on N64 I was entirely against the idea and thought it was a step back, or at least that was until I played it. The concept was very basic for an RPG, however the longer that you played the game the more in depth it came to overcome each and every battle greatly increasing the difficulty curve by games end. With the series going back to the turn based roots of the 1st and 2nd titles I cannot wait to spend hours immersed in the next installment.

Ryan C’s Picks

  1. Mass Effect 3
  2. Halo 4
  3. Bioshock Infinite
  4. Soul Calibur V
  5. Tomb Raider Reboot
  6. Sly Cooper 4
  7. Zone of the Enders HD Collection
  8. Final Fantasy XIII-2
  9. Hitman: Absolution
  10. Prey 2

TOP PICK – Mass Effect 3

Why? – 2012 is gonna have more than a few heavyweight releases but for me, none demand my attention more than Mass Effect 3; the endpoint of one of this generation’s biggest action/rpg series and a high point for all Sci-Fi fans. Anyone familiar with ME 1 & 2 knows what makes this a great series. Solid third person shooting mechanics mixed with exploration and interaction. Decisions have never had as much consequence as they do in the Mass Effect universe and I can’t wait to see how decisions I made years ago in ME1 & 2 will come back around to reward or to haunt me. Add in the potential of the newly integrated multiplayer and the practically guaranteed top notch DLC and Mass Effect 3 will no doubt please longtime fans, new fans, and surely be a contender for Game of the year 2012.

Ryan D’s Picks

  1. Borderlands 2
  2. Bioshock Infinite
  3. Max Payne 3
  4. Zone of the Enders HD Collection
  5. Tomb Raider
  6. Uncharted: Golden Abyss
  7. Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City
  8. Devil May Cry Reboot
  9. Devil May Cry HD Collection
  10. Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

TOP PICK – Borderlands 2

Why? – I literally could not get enough if the first. I would marathon that game right now with a co-op partner (fingers crossed though that they tightened up the single player) despite having been through the game at least 3 times. The sequel earns my same devotion. To me it’s the best combination of fun, unique gameplay and addictiveness to be the standout title on this list.

Ash’s Picks

  1. Mass Effect 3
  2. Borderlands 2 – Borderlands is a game that, even though it has long been beaten, is often picked up and replayed in my household. It has some of the best multiplayer available (local multiplayer included, which is great for roommate play), and the DLC Gearbox has released is better than the original game. I’m thrilled to see what they do with the next one
  3. Bioshock Infinite – the original Bioshock was the first game I ever played on the Xbox 360, and I’ve loved the series since then. The second one wasn’t particularly good, but Irrational Games (creators of the first Bioshock) are stepping back in to produce Infinite, and I cannot wait to see the World of Columbia, the floating city in the sky.
  4. DOTA 2
  5. Prototype 2
  6. Darksiders 2
  7. Professor Layton
  8. Tomb Raider
  9. A Song of Fire and Ice
  10. Jurassic Park (it should be noted that while I don’t expect much from numbers 9 and 10, I love the books, so they made the list.)

TOP PICK – Mass Effect 3

Why? – – I’m so excited for this game, it hurts. Mass Effect has created arguably the most in depth, and gripping RPG plot line ever. That coupled with superior graphics and incredible mechanics, will make this my game of the year.

 Closing Comments

2012 is no doubt going to be a huge year and it will deliver more games than any one human can handle.  There are some titles that we here at TGA were pretty unanimous on in regards to anticipation (especially Mass Effect 3), but we know there Is a lot more coming out that we didn’t mention.  With that being said; what are you excited for in 2012?  Did we miss something important on our lists?   Sound off in the comments section and let us know what you think.  As always you can follow us on Twitter @GamersAbstract and like us on Facebook for more content.

Comments
  1. […] All the writers here at TGA have picked their Top 10 most anticipated titles so take a look. Read More GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

Leave a Reply

