Can Videogames make you Feel?

Posted: October 18, 2010 by Tim Utley in Editorials

Most people have felt an emotion from a song or shed a tear from a heart felt movie, but how many people can say a videogame has struck an emotional cord?  I have experienced all three, but my videogame moments have usually been my most memorable.  I have many fond memories from gaming over the years and some have come in the form of gifts or a powerful moment in a videogame that i was playing at the time.

Most games are dispensable to me, but the games i always find myself going back to years down the road are the ones that made me feel something.  Whether it be happiness, sadness, anger or wonderment, if a videogame is capable of generating that kind of emotional response out of me it stays with me forever.  You might be wondering what kind of moments are capable of such an accomplishment?  Look at the image below and if you game you  might remember this image very distinctly and just maybe this moment is something that we hold in common.

 

This moment made me scream at my TV

 

Good videogames have the ability just like good books to create and develop characters that you actually care about.  In conjunction with great character development certain games create worlds that we can only fantasize about.  I have always been fascinated with Japanese culture and how modern day Japanese metropolises are either depicted or hyperbolized in videogames.  One of my favorite games of all time, Jet Grind Radio,  only sparked my curiosity more and really made me wonder if this sprawling metropolis was an accurate depiction of life in Japan or was it something else?

 

If this is Tokyo i want to be there now

 

Videogames have and will always be a large part of my life because of what they are capable of doing.  Most only seem them as a form of entertainment, but i see more existential qualities in them.  They are an amalgamation of every art form, borrowing everything that makes those respective art forms great and gives you the reins to experience something incredible.  I could go on all day about things i have experienced and felt from my time with videogames, but i would like to hear from you and if there is anything in particular that you have felt from videogames.

Leave a Reply

