Who has the time???

Posted: February 7, 2011 by Tim Utley in Editorials

What I am about to say might come as a surprise to some of you, but every year I wish that the release calendar for games would be slightly less overwhelming.  I also believe that this plight is not mine to bear alone.  I have still have games from 2010 that I haven’t even opened because there were so many big releases.  By the time 2010 ended I already knew that my life was over for 2011.  I’m playing catchup from 2010 and getting ready for the onslaught of 2011.  And it’s not like I’m worried about the waves of shit games that are coming out, I’m worried about the waves of GOTY nominees that are coming out.  So I pose the question, who has the time to play all of these games?

This year is so jam packed with AAA games it’s bordering on absurdity.  In the first three months of 2011 alone there is Marvel vs. Capcom 3, Killzone 3, Bulletstorm, Crysis 2,  Dead Space 2, Dragon Age 2, Homefront, Deus Ex: Human Revolution, Little Big Planet 2 and Fight Night: Champion.  Really?(Repeat in your mind three times, do it more or count to 10 to cool down).  That is the first 3 months alone, COME ON!!  This is the bullshit that I am talking about.  Why should I be pissed, simple I don’t have the time and in some cases the money to play all these incredible titles.  Out of the games I mentioned mere seconds ago 5 of them are being published by EA (big surprise, eh).  I don’t understand why these games have release dates in such close proximity to one another.  Space them out already.  If people have more time to complete a game they will A. Have time to dedicate to another title and B. Will probably have money to spend on another game.  Simple concepts to wrap your head around Mr. Ubiquitous Gaming Industry.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful that good games get released each year, I just don’t like having to choose which ones to play and which ones to ignore.  If this is a problem you have, share your angst in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

