I just can’t Kinect

Posted: February 8, 2011 by Tim Utley in Editorials

Over the past couple of months my financial situation has been fluctuating pretty steadily.  So in an attempt to be a responsible adult I have held off for a long time on buying a Kinect.  With it being tax return season I figured I could finally pick one up and not feel guilty for paying a little less on my student loans.  So now that money had been removed as a limiting factor I just had to make sure that the Kinect would work in my play space.  A few phone calls later I was able to borrow a friend’s Kinect to do a dry run and see if it would function proper in the space I had.

Setting up the actual hardware was a breeze, but when it came to calibrating it I ran into some serious issues.  In a nutshell my room sucks for Kinect.  I was able to set it up and use some of the motion features, but all in all it was a failed attempt at using Kinect.  I had a friend demo Kinect Adventures with me and we had to stand on my couch for the sensor to even recognize us in the room (not really fun).  I can at least say I tried, but until my living arrangements change drastically (like not having a 8ft X 8ft room for almost everything you own) the Kinect will have to remain on the back burner.  I was really hoping to do the Dougie in a Dance Central freestyle this weekend, damn.

Leave a Reply

