My Most Anticipated (Remaining) Games of 2011

Posted: March 13, 2011 by Tim Utley in Editorials
Tags: , , ,

I was intending to write this article in January.  But I got one of those things called a job and that kind of put a kink in the gears.  So you can only imagine how much larger this list would actually be.  So keep that in mind while reading and enjoy.

Batman: Arkham City

Why it is on the list:

Most fans of comics hate how their favorite heroes have been depicted in videogames and Batman hadn’t been on the receiving end of any quality products.  That all changed with Batman: Arkham Asylum.  Rocksteady Studios came out and delivered not only the best superhero game of all time, but easily one of the best games of 2009.  Arkham City is already looking like a contender for Game of the Year and I am very excited for what Rocksteady has in store for us this fall.

Portal 2


Why it is on the list:

The first Portal was a treat that was packaged with the Orange Box (still one of the best deals in gaming) back in 2007.  Most of you are familiar with Portal (I hope), but for those of you who are not, Portal was a puzzle game that was physics and dimensionally based.  It offered a very unique experience for puzzle gamers and with Portal 2 the experience will be even greater.  GLaDOS is back and ready to make you eat some f$%king cake.  Look for your second trip to the Aperture Science Center this April.

Gears of War 3


Why it is on the list:

Gears of War is a series that is synonymous with quality and really put the Xbox 360 on the map.  GOW 3 will no doubt continue to carry the torch of quality and blood goodness that comes with GOW.  With iconic characters like Marcus Fenix at the helm of this apocalyptic tale you really can’t go wrong.  It is also the final chapter in the saga so needless to say I am pretty pumped to see what happens when the fat lady sings.

Mass Effect 3


Why it is on the list:

I was going to be a jerk and not say anything because nothing really needs to be said.  This should be on everyone’s list even if you don’t have one.  Mass Effect 3 is one of many series finales happening this year and is easily going to ruin my life just like its predecessors.  I have a very particular taste for RPGs and the Mass Effect series has yet to disappoint with its offerings.  I am very excited to see how things play out for Shepard and his crew and how Earth will fare against the Reapers/Collectors/Potential Cerberus retaliation.

Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception


Why it is on the list:

Most people said that Metal Gear Solid 4 was the first game that made owning a PS3 worth it.  I call bullshit on that immediately because Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune is still one of the best games I have played to date (and trust me I have played a lot).  The gameplay, graphics, and story telling are all top notch in this series and I am fully confident nothing will change with the third iteration of Uncharted.  With new locals and new mysteries permeating in this final title we are guaranteed a treat come this fall.

Mortal Kombat


Why it is on the list:

Mortal Kombat means just as much to the genre of fighting games as Halo means to first person shooter (probably even more so, sorry Halo).  Mortal Kombat has seen some departures from what originally made the series great (*cough* MK vs. DCU and its lame ass Teen rating).  Mortal Kombat is mature again and has returned as close to its roots as we will probably see.  Noob Saibot is back which rocks and the game is back to a 2D fighting plane.  This Mortal Kombat will set the record straight and hopefully draw back in its fans that were lost for most of the past decade.

L.A. Noire

Why it is on the list:

Rockstar is making the game what else do you need to know (I need to stop doing that).  L.A. Noire is getting a May release just like our GOTY winner last year (Red Dead Redemption) did.  This game has been in the works for a pretty long time now and has certainly had time to build hype.  One thing that really makes me excited for new games is unique features and that is something that L.A. Noire seems to have on lockdown.  The ways interrogations are done in Noire are second to none, but not because of dialogue options, but facial animations.  The team at Rockstar has invested so much detail into its characters’ facial features that you are supposedly able to tell if a suspect is lying just by looking at their face.  That is pretty remarkable people, especially for in-game graphical detail.  L.A. Noire is hitting shelves soon so keep an eye out for it.

Duke Nukem Forever


Why it is on the list:

It has been awhile since I have been able to hail to the king.  The last time any of us had the opportunity to purchase a Duke game brand new at retail was about 11 years ago (not including Duke Nukem Advance).  That is pretty depressing when you think about it, but that is all going to change on May 3rd.  DNF is finally coming out and will kick ass and chew bubblegum.  DNF probably has more hype behind then any other game in the history of games.  Duke fans have been taken on a roller coaster ride through development hell and back.  So keep your balls of steel polished because DNF is almost here.

Forza 4


Why it is on the list:

I am a huge racing fan and even bigger Forza fan.  With Turn 10 setting the bar so high with Forza 3 and I really can’t wait to see what they have in store for the 4th entry.  Kinect driving support has me intrigued and if implemented well will certainly change the series for the better.  Forza continues to innovate their racing games, but doesn’t forget what made them great in the first place and that is an enjoyable racing experience with great community support.  Most racing games do not offer this and that is why they just don’t make the cut.  If you are a racing fan keep your eyes peeled for Forza 4 this fall.

Max Payne 3

Winter 2009, that's a good one

Why it is on the list:

Some of you might remember the article I wrote about this game and me wondering where the hell it is?  May Payne set the standard for third person shooters back in 2001 and is still an incredibly fun game to this day.  Max Payne 3 doesn’t have a concrete release date yet, but I am hoping it comes out this year.  The story and the gunplay in these games spawned a bunch of clones, but none that exhibit the same visceral undertones that Max Payne franchise encompasses.

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim


Why it is on the list:

I will first start off by saying that I have a very strange relationship with the Elder Scrolls series (at least the ones I have played).  I get really excited for them, play them for about 20 or so hours, then drop them like a hot sack of shit.  I am hoping to change that with Skyrim.  From what I have seen in Skyrim I have liked and some of the gameplay options this time around seem more appetizing for my play style.  Skyrim is set to hit shelves this fall and will hopefully keep my attention this time around (fingers crossed).

Well that wraps up the main list.  Below are some notable games worth mentioning.  I am sure that I have missed something you were anticipating this year (hand held games are non-existent); so let me know in the comments section.

Other games worth noting:

  • Brink
    • Brink looks really interesting, but I can’t help but think that is looks like a love child of “The Club” and “Borderlands”.  I hope I am wrong and this game is fantastic, but from judging what I have seen this game will remain an afterthought.
  • Virtua Tennis 4
    • Virtua Tennis 4 is a notable for me because I am a huge Virtua Tennis nerd.  While the Virtua Tennis series might follow the same formula as every other sports franchise in regards to only changing a few things and calling it new, it doesn’t bother me because the core experience remains the same and that is the allure for me.
  • Red Faction: Armageddon
    • Red Faction: Armageddon looks promising, but not having invested much time into Guerilla I couldn’t put this on the top list.  If I get around to actually finishing Guerilla I might be more excited for this release but until then it will have to wait.
  • Child of Eden
    • I mentioned this game in an article I wrote about synaesthesia (visualing sound) in videogames.  This game is coming from the people who brought us Rez.  It will have Kinect and Move functionality and will incorporate another dimension to sound with the inclusion of movement.  So if you are down to visualize sound and literally bend the music, Child of Eden is for you.
  • Fear 3
    • Fear 3 falls into this category not because I don’t think it deserves to be above, but because I was too lazy to finish the second game (what a surprise).  This game will surely rock my socks off, but until I finish Fear 2, it will only rock my shelf.

Alright this is really the end.  Check back soon for more Abstract goodness.

Leave a Reply

