Downloading and Batman don’t play nice

Posted: October 19, 2011 by Tim Utley in News and Updates
Tags: , , , ,

I don’t think I am the first person to discover this, but I will share it regardless.  Before playing Batman: Arkham City I choose to run some downloads in the background as to multitask and also give me something to look forward to after my Batman session had concluded.  Not a bad idea right, thinking ahead and trying to stream line my day’s events.  Lets just say that I was wrong, but not knowing I was going to be wrong (strange feeling).  Every time one of my random Indie Games finished downloading a prompt would show up on screen in Arkham City saying that new DLC was discovered and would return me to the main menu (which confused the hell out of me).  This happened to me on a combat challenge map where I was about to get a 3 star score and completely screwed up my run.  I was pretty pissed to say the least.  I figured it was just an isolated glitch, so I returned to the combat challenges in an effort to replicate my performance from the previous run.  BOOM!  It happens again, now I am beyond perturbed because I had that 3 star run going and was about to KO the last enemy.

So the moral of the story is until Rocksteady patches this problem do not download anything in the background because it will bring you back to the main menu without a choice thinking it is DLC for Arkham City.  Learn from my woes and do not repeat the same mistake because it will drive you insane too.

I will try and investigate this problem more and I will post something on Twitter when said problem is fixed.  As always follow us on Twitter @GamersAbstract and like us on Facebook.  Stay tuned for more news and enter our Batman Giveaway for a chance to win Batman: Gotham Knight in digital form.

[Note: This is on the Xbox 360 version of the game, unaware if the same problem exists on PS3]

Comments
  1. […] TGA post – Downloading and Batman don’t play nice Share this:TwitterFacebookStumbleUponRedditMoreDiggLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. this did not happen to me on PS3

  3. Tim Utley says:

    This must only be a Xbox 360 issue then, thanks for the update Justin

Leave a Reply

